2022 FIFA World Cup – Individual Awards Summary


Qatar showcases the historical Awards ceremony after the Final between Argentina and France on Sunday. Of course, it was Messi’s night, who scored seven goals in total, en routing his side to hoist high the winning Trophy alongside massive Cash Money.

Even though the FIFA World Cup Trophy is regarded as the highest event’s award, there is a collection of individual commendation awards by FIFA to recognize inescapable and supremely gifted players at the end of the tournament.

While Lionel Messi inspired Argentina outshined reigning champion France in the Finals of the 2022 World Cup on penalty shoots, the 35-year-old also got his hands on the tournament’s biggest prize, “The Golden Ball,” for scoring seven goals.

It is pertinent to mention that Messi has become the first footballer to score in the Knockouts, Quarter Final, Semi-Final, and Final of the same edition. However, Messi’s dream of winning the Golden Boot is intercepted by Kylian Mbappe, who scored a hat-trick in the Final.

The French forward, Kylian Mbappe, became the first man since Sir Geoff Hurst in 1966 to score a hat-trick in a World Cup final. With 8 goals in the 2022 FIFA World, Mbappe is the leading goal scorer and also equalized the Ronaldo’s total from 2002.

2022 FIFA World Cup – Individual Awards Distribution List

Off the back of the World Cup, FIFA has confirmed an array of Give-away, including the Golden Boot, Golden Glove, Golden Glove, FIFA Fair Play Trophy, and FIFA Young Player, while supporters have handed over the task of voting for the Best Event Goal and the Most Entertaining Team of the tournament.

  • Golden Boot: Kylian Mbappe (France)
  • Golden Ball: Lionel Messi (Argentina)
  • Golden Glove: Emiliano Martinez (Argentina)
  • FIFA Young Player: Enzo Fernandez (Argentina)
  • FIFA Fair Play Trophy: England
  • Goal of the Tournament: TBC
  • Most Entertaining Team: TBC