Pakistan Team Squad For ICC T20 World Cup 2022 – (Officially Confirmed)


ICC T20 World Cup is starting from 16th October in Australia. Pakistan is one of the eight teams to directly qualify for the Super 12 stage in T20 World Cup 2022. They are placed in Group 2 of Super 12 stage with India, South Africa, Bangladesh, and two other teams from Round 1 Stage. PCB has announced the Pakistan team squad for T20 World Cup.

As per the announcement, Babar Azam will captain Pakistan in T20 World Cup. You can get all the detailed information about Pakistan Team Squad for T20 World Cup 2022 here on this page.

Pakistan Team Squad for T20 World Cup 2022

At last, the news has come for all the thrilled Pakistan Cricket fans who were desperately waiting fro Pakistan Team Squad for T20 World Cup 2022 to be announced. Well, Pakistan Cricket Board has announced the news. It appears Babar Azam will lead Pakistan to the T20 World Cup. Babar has a well adjusted Team Squad to lead in the even.

ICC T20 World Cup is one the cards in October and November. Pakistan are well-aware of the magnitude of the tournament and they already have begun the preparations.  They toured West Indies for a T20 and Test series, where they outclassed the home side by 1-0 in a four match T20 series. Earlier they were in England for ODI and T20 series. The English team defeated Pakistan with 2-1 score in the T20 series.

Watch: PTV Sports Live Stream T20 World Cup 2022

Former Champions Pakistan are planning to reclaim the World T20 Title that once belonged to them. Since, 2009 T20 World Cup, Pakistan made it to the semi finals for couple of times but could not make it to the finals. T20 World Cup 2022 can be an opportunity for the Pakistan to reclaim their glory in T20 format.

Babar Azam XI

Pakistan have a well balanced to participate in this tournament They have batting giants like Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan to make things easy for them in the tournament. Whereas, they also have one of the deadliest bowling attack with the likes of Shaheen Afridi and Hassan Ali.

With their well announced Team Squad, Pakistan are eyeing to retake the T20 World Cup title. Given their strength, they will be one of the most difficult sides for their opponents.

Serial Player Status
1 Babar Azam Captain/Batsman
2 Mohammad Rizwan Batsman/Wkt
3 Sharjeel Khan Batsman
4 Mohammad Hafeez All Rounder
5 Fakhar Zaman Batsman
6 Shadab Khan All-rounder
7 Sohaib Maqsood All Rounder
8 Shaheen Shah Afridi Bowler
9 Usman Qadir Bowler
10 Imad Wasim All Rounder
11 Haris Rauf Bowler
12 Shoaib Malik All Rounder
13 Mohammad Hasnain All Rounder
14 Hassan ali Bowler
15 Faheem Ashraf All Rounder

Given the pitch conditions suitable for spin bowlers, Pakistan have the higher chances to win the T20 WC title this year. With the likes of Shadab Khan, Usman Qadir and Shaheen Afridi, Pakistan are all set to challenge the opponent teams in T20 Word Cup.

Batting Line Up

Pakistan Team Squad for T20 World Cup consists of both young and experienced players in the squad. Babar Azam himself have been up to the mark by setting up records in T20 format. Whereas, his new opening partner Mohammad Rizwan needs no words to explain his potential as a batsman.

Rizwan had a glorious year recently in 2020, and he recorded many fifties in the T20 Format. Moving on with Fakhar Zaman who himself is a batting giant. With couple of big T20 innings to his name, he forms the backbone of Pakistan’s middle order with Mohammad Hafeez.

Download: Apps To Watch T20 World Cup 2022 on Android/iOS

Whereas, Hafeez has so much T20 experience to offer to the Pakistan. Apart from it, Sharjeel Khan also takes the responsibility in the middle order for Pakistan. All said and done, Pakistan has one of the best batting line up to suit the conditions of Australia pitches in T20 World Cup 2022.

Bowling Line Up

Shaheen Afridi and Hassan Ali both are taking charge of Pakistan’s bowling line up. They both have extra ordinary bowling skills to upset the opposite batsmen. Apart from it, Shadab Khan, Usman Qadir, Haris Rauf and Faheem Ahraf will also be the bowling options for Pakistan in T20 World Cup.

Bowlers like Shadab Khan and Usman Qadir can be the key wicket takers for Pakistan given the spin bowling supporting pitch conditions in Australia. They both have the ability to dismiss even the top batsman with their spin and googlies.

Pakistan in T20 World Cups History

Pakistan have been one of the five luckiest team to win the T20 World Title. However, like other winners, they also did well in other seasons as well. In the inaugural season they came runner up against their arch rivals India. If misbah had pulled six on the last part, Pakistan could have two world T20 titles.

In 2009, they became champions after defeating Sri Lanka in the T20 World Cup final. Whereas, they qualified for Semi finals in 2010 and 2012 T20 World Cups. However, since 2014, they are getting kicked out from the Round 2 stage in the T20 World Cups.

Only west Indies have better standings then Pakistan in T20 World Cup all seasons. So, you can say they are one of the dominating sides in T20 World Cups. And, in 2022 they could be a threatening team for opponents.

Pakistan Matches/Fixtures in T20 World Cup 2022

Pakistan are one of the eight teams that directly qualified for the T20 World Cup 20212 Super 12 stage. They are placed in Group 2 of Super 12 stage with India, South Africa, Bangladesh and two other qualifying teams from Round 1 stage.

Pakistan will start their T20 World Cup with the arch rival India. The high-voltage match between India and Pakistan will take place at Melbourne, Cricket Stadium, Melbourne on 23rd October 2022. The rest of the schedule for Pakistan in T20 WC will be as following.

Date  Match Teams  Venue Time
23 October 15th Match Pakistan vs India
Bellerive Oval, Hobart
08:00 AM GMT / 07:00 PM LOCAL
27 October  24th Match Pakistan vs B1 Perth Stadium, Perth
11:00 AM GMT / 07:00 PM LOCAL
30 October  29th Match Pakistan vs A2
Perth Stadium, Perth
07:00 AM GMT / 03:00 PM LOCAL
03 November  36th Match Pakistan vs South Africa Sydney Cricket Stadium, Sydney
08:00 AM GMT / 07:00 PM LOCAL
06 November  42nd Match Pakistan vs Bangladesh Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
04:00 AM GMT / 25:30 PM LOCAL