PCB announces Squad for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023


Just In: The Chief Selector of the Pakistan National Women’s team, Asmavia Iqbal, has announced a 15-player squad for next month’s white-ball series against Australia and for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, which will commence on Feb 10 and continue till Feb 26.

According to the details, the seasoned Bismah Maroof will keep the role of Women’s team skipper for both ventures. Notably, the final lineup was selected after deliberations by Asmavia, interim head coach Saleem Jaffer and captain Bismah.

The right-arm pacer Diana Baig’s name is restored to the list after the fast bowler missed out in the home series against Ireland due to a shoulder injury. And while spinners Tuba Hassan and Sadia Iqbal have also returned to the squad after skipping against Ireland due to hand and index finger injuries, respectively.

Talking to the Media, the Chief Selector said, “The ODI series against Australia is important, the hopes are high as we have won the last five of six championship games, and our goal is to qualify directly for the 50-over World Cup.”

“We are relying on experienced players for the World Cup, and we expect them to use their experience on the field and bring positive outcomes for the team. The comeback of Diana Baig, Sadia Iqbal, and Tuba Hassan will uplift the side’s potential and will strengthen our bowling attack. Sidra Nawaz is joining the team as back-up wicket-keeper in the squad to provide Muneeba Ali with extra space to work on her batting skills,” she added.

Pakistan’s Women’s Team will travel to Australia on Jan 6 to play 3-ODI matches and 3 T20Is, as part of their ICC Women’s Cricket Championship 2022-25. Off the back of the bilateral series, the team will travel to South Africa to participate in the Women’s T20 World Cup 2023.

Pakistan ODI squad for the Australia series:

Bismah Maroof Aliya Riaz, Ayesha Naseem, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Ghulam Fatima, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali, Nashra Sandhu, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, and Sidra Nawaz

Pakistan T20I squad for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, South Africa:

Bismah Maroof Aimen Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Ayesha Naseem, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Javeria Khan, Muneeba Ali, Nashra Sandhu, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz, and Tuba Hassan